Renegade by Debra Driza (MILA 2.0 #2)

10222365

Goodreads Blurb:

There is no one left for Mila to trust. Except for a boy she barely knows.

But Hunter has no idea who—and what—Mila really is. She can’t bear to reveal her secret, even though he’s unwittingly joined her search for Richard Grady, a man who may know more details of Mila’s complicated past. Yet the road to the truth is more dangerous than ever. With General Holland and the Vita Obscura scouring the earth for her whereabouts, Mila must rely on her newfound android abilities to protect herself and Hunter from imminent harm. Still, embracing her identity as a machine leads her to question the state of her humanity—as well as Hunter’s real motives. Perfect for fans of I Am Number Four and Divergent, this action-packed and heart-wrenching second installment of MILA 2.0 will leave readers breathlessly awaiting the series conclusion.

[My Review without Spoilers]

This book was fast-paced and action-filled but in terms of romance, the relationship between Hunter and Mila proved to be disappointing. Thanks to all the times Mila has already been betrayed by people she trusted, she never truly trusts Hunter. (I know this was more realistic than Mila spilling her guts to Hunter and them “living happily ever after” on the run from the Vita Obscura and General Holland but I still felt disappointed).

Another source of disappointment was Hunter’s character. I think he represents everything Mila can’t have or be but Hunter still comes off as naive. It’s great how he doesn’t want to “push” Mila but at the same time he literally drops everything and goes on a road trip with her because of one phone call. Did I mention that they barely know each other?! Whether he’s “innocent” or not, his behavior just didn’t seem realistic. I mean there is a lot going on right under his nose…

That said, Mila’s character was really cool. Mila discovers and learns to use more of her “abilities” through out the book. And we see how she’s beginning to assimilate to this idea of “not being human.” At the same time, the only thing that makes her human – her emotions – are what she thinks are “holding her back.”

I think what makes Mila endearing to readers is her emotional struggle in embracing her identity. A lot of us have or are experiencing identity crises where we either don’t know who we are or don’t want to embrace our identity. Her feelings for Hunter are also very relatable – I was quick to empathize with her uncertainty toward telling him the truth about herself. If I were in her place, the fear of rejection would definitely have been stronger than the need to tell the truth.

So yes I’d recommend this book. The main character is pretty awesome and the plot kept me turning the pages.

Rating: 

stock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpx

Advertisements
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: