Mini-Book Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate (Fallen #1)

6487308

Goodreads Blurb

What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart.

Get ready to fall . . .

My Review without Spoilers

Beautifully written and suspenseful – I was blown away by this book. I started reading this and was instantly hooked. I love this book so much, although the blurb is in itself a spoiler since it pretty accurately sums up most of the story. However there are some unexpected plot twists at the end! So you must be wondering why I enjoyed this book so much.. That is primarily because all that suspense amounted to something I did not anticipate. Initially, I was also really curious about how this idea of being damned to lose the one you love over and over again would play out in the story… Needless to say, I wasn’t disappointed and I look forward to reading the next book in the series!

Since I usually go on about my favorite character, let me tell you about my least favorite character. To those of you have read the book – no it wasn’t Cam. I actually liked him! He was charismatic and interesting with a story worth telling. Penn, on the other hand, was the polar opposite. She is a character who is boring and bookish (there is nothing wrong with being bookish). Now that pretty much describes me but I’m not a character in a book! I prefer more depth and fascinating backgrounds/backstories in my characters. There are instances where the author gives us glimpses into her past and who she is but those are few. She contributes to the story but at the same time is she isn’t a very memorable character.

So anyway – I definitely recommend this book! 🙂

Rating: 

stock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpx

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Mini-Book Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate (Fallen #1)

  1. alyssatheliteraturenerd says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this book! I thought I was the only one who did. Also, Cam is my favorite character. I definitely loved him way more than Daniel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

