#BookBlogWriMo: Your Ratings System

bookblogwrimo-banner

This is an version of NaNoWriMo for book bloggers. There’s a prompt for each day discussing various aspects of blogging. #BookBlogWriMo is hosted by Book Bumblings.

Today’s Prompt: Your Ratings System – A lot of blogs have ratings policies or systems. Some don’t, but they really do. What makes you decide how many stars to give?

My ratings system is defined (rather vaguely I suppose) on my About page. But anyway here it is!….

My rating system:

I rate each book out of 5 stars based on how much I liked it.

stock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpx – Not so great

stock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpx – Alright

stock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpx – Not Good/Not Bad

stock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpx– Pretty Good

stock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpxstock-photo-14956154-golden-star-on-white-background-with-clipping-path-xxxl-49mpx– Great!

Please elaborate?!…I can’t really elaborate on what I mean by “pretty good” and “great” because I feel that book reviews can never be totally objective. Our thoughts on a book are usually governed by our feelings and reactions to it. My “pretty good” can’t possibly be your “pretty good” so it’s hard to explain it.

On recommending books…Now in my opinion, a four or five star book is worth reading and I usually recommend those. I still recommend three star books with the idea that you might enjoy it more than I did. I am yet to rate a book two stars but if that were to happen, it would probably be because I didn’t really enjoy the book and therefore I would not really recommend it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

