Liebster Award

becomingness-liebster-award

Thanks to ireaditandwept for nominating me for the Liebster Award! 🙂 Check out their blog post (and blog!).

Rules:

Link and thank those who nominated you.

Answer the 11 questions posed to you, list 11 random facts about yourself, nominate 11 bloggers and ask them 11 questions.

Inform them of nomination by commenting on one of their posts.

11 Questions:

What was the first book you ever read?

I don’t know… It was way back in Kindergarten and it wasn’t even my own book. I do remember my dad buying me a book of poetry when I was 6 years old and I was just stared at him like, “how do I read this?!” And of-course I wasn’t interested in poetry then. I loved fantasy fiction – anything to do with fairies.

Who was your favourite school teacher?

Mr. Winston (4th grade teacher) or Ms. Nightingale (8th grade teacher).

Have you ever had a book hangover? (i.e. unable to read anything or pretty much focus on life because of a book)

Yup! Book hangovers where I’m unable to read anything, usually happen during the summer when I end up reading too much and I reach my limit.. The second type of hangover mentioned usually happens during the year when I read amazing books!

What did you want to be when you grew up (as a kid)?

This one is embarrassing! So lets just go with “I wanted to be a writer and I still do!”

If you had a million dollars what would be one of the first things you spent it on?

I’d buy some books, upgrade my blog and get a new iPhone (not to be cliche with the iPhone thing but my iPhone is actually getting old and I hate it when my reading apps malfunction.. 😦 )

Say you had a fire and you could only choose to save one book off your shelf, which would you pick, and why?

I’d probably save a book which is very significant to me. Such as a book that my grandfather bought for me and signed on the inside cover. I still remember how happy and proud I was it. It was one of the “fattest” books I owned back then and gosh.. I was just so happy! The book I’m going on about is Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke

Are you a cat or a dog person?

Definitely cat!

What book are you currently reading?

#scandal by Sarah Ockler. It is really good and I’ll probably post a book review for it within the next since six months! 😉

If you could pick any book to describe your life which would you choose?

Oh this is hard… because I don’t think there are any books which could really describe my life. Considering my life isn’t half as exciting as those of book characters (and there aren’t even any love triangles!) I guess I can’t answer this one..

Many authors write under a pen name, if you had one what would your name be?

I’ve considered this before but I honestly don’t know. Apart from the cliche or cheesy names that I immediately think of, I’m really not sure what pen name I would use.

What is your favourite quote, preferably from a book?

“It’s a good idea to have your own books with you in a strange place”  – Cornelia Funke (Inkheart).

I love this quote because it so accurately sums up the reason why I always bring books with me. They’re like a security blanket – a source of comfort – a reason not to worry about getting lost in the real world because I can lose myself in a book.

11 Random Facts:

I love traveling and I’ve been to a lot of countries (such as Singapore, New Zealand, Thailand, Beijing, Taiwan, Switzerland, etc. etc.)

I always take a book with me wherever I go.. (this includes ebooks on my trusty e-reader)

I love writing! ❤

I make multiple to-do lists every week but stuff is always being shifted to the next day because I procrastinate (without meaning to!)

I watched the Starving Games recently and thought it was hilarious (couldn’t stop laughing!).

I only bother buying music when it’s recommended by a friend and I’ve listened to at-least some of the songs.. I guess I’m just picky like that 😛

I don’t actually hate spoilers because they pique my interest in that they don’t usually describe how the event occurred. E.g. A spoiler might tell you that a girl died and you’re disappointed but I still want to know how the girl died.

Despite the advice not to obsessively check your stats (maybe I’ve given this advice before?) I still do it because it encourages me to finish the blog post I’m working on and reminds me that someone apart from my best friend is reading this blog!!

I’ve always wanted a pet cat but I’m kind-of scared of animals… Just a bit…. enough to freak me out when I accidentally collide with a dog……enough to make me walk faster…

I’ve been told not to be so serious on occasion because despite my (fabulous) sense of humour, I can take jokes too seriously..

I don’t like looking bad in photos (I know you’re thinking who does?) but at the same time, I don’t always care if its just my friends looking at them.

Who do I nominate? 

Alright, so I have no idea who to nominate but if you’re reading this and you want to participate – go ahead!….Meanwhile, I’ll just nominate some blogs I know and love (who may already have done this award but the point of this is more like a shoutout saying that I LOVE YOUR BLOGS! <3)

Jess @ TheBookNecessity (great blogger + best friend)

Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

KrystalSpade @ Books and Bookmarks

Katja @ Katja The Book Blogger

11 Questions for Nominees:

What are your thoughts on the use of ARCs to create “pre-publication buzz?”

What do you consider “home”? (Person, place or thing?)

How is book blogging working out for you – what are the highs/lows you’ve experienced?

Do you have a “mantra” that runs through your mind when you blog?

Who or what is your “muse?”

What are your favorite memes?

Which memes do you participate in and which do you want to participate in?

What do you do when you don’t have time to blog?

How do you “manage your time wisely” when you blog?

Have you upgraded your blog or are you thinking of upgrading your blog? Why?

Which are some of your favorite blogs? 🙂

Thanks again for nominating me –  ireaditandwept!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

