The Reader Problems Tag

Hey everyone!
I was tagged by Jolien @ The Fictional Reader to do the Reader Problems Tag. Thanks for tagging me Jolien. 🙂 If you haven’t already done so, I think you should check out her blog post. Without further ado, let’s begin…

You have 20.000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Assuming I have no ARCs that I need to read and review, I pick a book from any of the various folders on my Kindle. I like to organize my ebooks according to my interest in them. There are in fact quite a few books that, on any day, I’ll desperately want to read because I’ve heard a lot about them… And usually I end up picking from one of these books if I don’t have anything else I feel obligated to read!

You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

If this book is an ARC, there’s a good chance I’ll commit anyway – just for the sake of writing a review if nothing else…But if its not and I’m not obligated to read it, then I’ll probably DNF. I don’t want to spend time on a book that’s not holding my interest and committing to a book I don’t like makes reading more like torture than fun…

The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Unfortunately I haven’t done the Goodreads reading challenge yet and right now, I’m not interested in trying it…But who knows, that might change! But back to the question, I wouldn’t try to catch up because that makes me feel like I’m reading for the sake of reading. Sure, bragging rights are great and all but I want to enjoy the books I read…not speed through them so fast I won’t remember anything about them, a month from now!

The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

Well I haven’t really faced this problem yet – mostly because I read on my Kindle but also because series covers matching is not a big deal to me. Half the time, I might not even like the book cover but the book itself is amazing. (You see my point?) All the same, I’d probably just rant to my best friend about it and then move on.

Everyone and their mother love a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I don’t? Unfortunately, I’m not outspoken enough to announce my distaste for a book which people think are in the league of TFIOS or The Book Thief. In fact, chances are many of my friends (who barely read) will probably have read that book and told me its amazing! …So who am I to risk the wrath of all those people?.. But all that aside, I’m not one to rant about books I don’t like – usually I save my rants for books I love instead!

 You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Firstly (I’m not cold-hearted or anything) but I don’t cry over books that often. But if that scenario were playing out, I’d probably switch to another book and pretend that I’m fine! 🙂

A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!

None of the above…I’m not up for re-reading the book when there’s the SEQUEL WAITING FOR ME! I don’t have that much patience..But hey wait a sec, why should I skip the sequel?! And no I’m not up for hunting through Goodreads threads..Or crying in frustration – I only do that when my contact lenses really irritate my eyes. So… what I usually do when I’m in this situation (because its happened before), I just read the sequel! Most authors at-least attempt to incorporate some form of back-story into the sequel and that would most likely be enough jog my memory even if I forgot a lot. After all, this is the sequel of one of my favorite books…

You do not want anyone. ANYONE. Borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

This question actually sums up my feelings on “book borrowing.” But the thing is..I have never actually encountered this kind of situation because no one has asked to borrow my books before! But if I had to, I’d probably explain that I really love my books and don’t usually let people borrow them…And if they make a fuss, I might just become rude too!

Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

I guess I try not reading for a while – because maybe I’ve just had too much reading…I mean, even for a book lover like me, sometimes I need a break from the books. But if I still want to read, then I try reading from a YA genre I haven’t read from recently (because maybe I’m tired of reading depressing dystopian books…or those annoying paranormal love triangles are just getting to me..).  I can also always just go on Goodreads, see what’s trending, see if it interests me and go get it! Then there’s always browsing through the books featured at my HS library (I’ve found some great books this way).

There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I try to prioritize! (I also request as many of them as I can find on Netgalley and pray, pray, pray that some of those requests will be accepted – thereby meaning that I won’t have to sacrifice them in the hopes of saving money…). I make lists and when it comes time to spend, I pick out the books which I really want and whittle it down to a chosen few.

After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

A day…A week…A month..A year…A few years! It really depends on whether I’m saving them for an occasion (like to read at the airport or to read on vacation)..Or whether I’m just worried I won’t enjoy it and I’m procrastinating. However, the books that really just gather dust are the ones I just bought because I thought it was a great bargain (etc.)…but it really wasn’t considering I’m not actually that interested in reading them! And sometimes these books actually go unread. I might just give up on them…Or three years later, when I’m cleaning out my closet again I’ll see them and decide to read it……

Well wow was this fun! Time just flew as I sat here typing up my blog post so thanks again Jolien for tagging me 🙂

I tag: Jessica @ The Book Necessity.  If anyone else wants to do this tag, go ahead! Comment below and let me know your doing it. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. bftreviews says:

    I’m gonna try and do this one. It sounds fun 🙂 I’ll link to you when it’s up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

