eARC Review: Rebel Wing by Tracy Banghart

23204489

Title: Rebel Wing

Author: Tracy Banghart

Publication Date: July 29th 2014

Rating: 5 stars

Goodreads Blurb: 

The Dominion of Atalanta is at war. But for eighteen-year-old Aris, the fighting is nothing more than a distant nightmare, something she watches on news vids from the safety of her idyllic seaside town. Then her boyfriend, Calix, is drafted into the Military, and the nightmare becomes a dangerous reality.

Left behind, Aris has nothing to fill her days. Even flying her wingjet—the thing she loves most, aside from Calix—feels meaningless without him by her side. So when she’s recruited to be a pilot for an elite search-and-rescue unit, she leaps at the chance, hoping she’ll be stationed near Calix. But there’s a catch: She must disguise herself as a man named Aristos. There are no women in the Atalantan Military, and there never will be.

Aris gives up everything to find Calix: her home. Her family. Even her identity. But as the war rages on, Aris discovers she’s fighting for much more than her relationship. With each injured person she rescues and each violent battle she survives, Aris is becoming a true soldier—and the best flyer in the Atalantan Military. She’s determined to save her Dominion . . . or die trying.

Note: This eARC was provided by Alloy Entertainment via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

My Review

The world-building is amazing and just one or two chapters into this book, I could imagine being part of this dystopian society. The suspense is cleverly built up by alternating chapters between the main character (Aris’s) life and that of Ward Vadim’s.

But in terms of characters, this book also has a very strong female lead. Aris is  one, brave, determined female character and although she starts of basing every decision of off her love for Calix, she grows to become more independent. In fact, there’s this huge transition in her mind-set as she goes from being “Calix-obsessed” to “patriotic” Aris. Her character develops into someone who wants to help rescue injured soldiers and save lives and in the end, that’s the version of her that I liked best. Also, the style in which she stands up for herself throughout the book is pretty impressive. Not to mention, her adjustment to her role as a man.

Calix, the equivalent of Aris’s “boyfriend,” seemed optimistic and down-to-earth in the beginning. However, his need to follow the rules made him seem way less romantic and by the end of the book, I was pretty disgusted by his behavior. His inability to accept her even if she changed was one of his greatest flaws and I just felt like Aris deserved someone way more committed to her (considering she even disguised herself as a man to be with him)!

Dianthe was on my favorite females in this book. Even though we don’t see a lot of her because she’s a minor character – I liked how independent and strong she is. From the start, she makes it clear that she believes that women should have a right to choose whether they want to be part of the military or not and fights for this opinion by helping woman join the military

Dysis was also quite similar to Dianthe but she seemed to be a “less tough” version. She could easily erect a facade of self-confidence and masculinity around the other men but she often let her walls down when she spoke with Aris. She was also very persistent and I quickly discovered just how far she was willing to go (hint: seduction) in order to find her brother. I could easily understand her desperation but despite applauding her efforts, I felt like she also behaved without caution at times.

Do I recommend this book? Yes. Overall, this book is pretty action-packed while exploring some of the highs and lows of love. The cliffhanger ending also has me excited to dive into the next book in this series.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “eARC Review: Rebel Wing by Tracy Banghart

  1. thebigfatf says:

    Great review! I received this book on netgalley but I don’t have anything compatible with netgalley so I missed my chance. But considering your review, I think I’ll buy the paperback.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Oh that sucks! Yes, I tried using my iPhone to read netgalley books for a while but it was really inconvenient because I had to download 5 different apps in case one wasn’t compatible.. So I started sending the books to my Kindle so that I could take my time and read them (even if they’re archived!). 😀
      So glad you’re considering buying a book based of my review! 😀 That makes me incredibly happy because when I started this blog I never expected people to genuinely be interested in what I have to say (I wasn’t really sure how the blogosphere worked…I was imagining something more cutthroat and competitive but this is like *amazing!* Everybody’s so nice and respectful and encouraging 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • thebigfatf says:

        I think the blogosphere is a place you’re heard. That’s why so many of us turn to it. So everyone understands this so they aren’t judging or mean because well, they’re similar to us.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Rachana says:

        That makes sense! It just seemed really hard to get heard but now I know there are even blog awards and every blog is getting some traffic thanks to all the linking 😀

        Like

  2. […] Do I recommend this book? Yes! I loved this sequel to Rebel Wing. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

