eARC Review: Deviation by Heather Hildenbrand

20869873

Title: Deviation

Author: Heather Hildenbrand

Publication Date: December 30th 2014

Rating: 3 stars

Goodreads Blurb: 

Protect. Obey. Sacrifice.

These words are the mantra of my existence. I’m not sure if it’s TitusRogen inspiring my desire to go against what I am or my own DNA deviating. All I can think is how Titus will look when he meets his end. It trumps even my wish for freedom. In this moment, I want nothing more than to watch the life bleed from Titus’s body. And I want it at my own hands.

Titus. The Creator.

I stare at my palms. Strength aside, I wonder if I’m capable of taking a life. A human life; one with a soul. And I wonder if that isn’t easier than taking the life of an Imitation. At least humans have souls that live on. What do I have after this? Where will I go? Back into a syringe? Will Titus recycle me? Or will I be lost forever down a lab drain?

We don’t deserve that.

We don’t deserve him.

Deserving and receiving are so very different here. And I am beginning to understand, to beat someone in this world, I‘ll have to play in it.

Note: This eARC was provided by Boot in the Door Publications via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

My Review

Considering how much I enjoyed Imitation, I really wanted to start of Deviation on a positive note! But the major info-dump in Chapter 1 and lack of action started boring me. I know Ven thinking through major events in the first book is supposed to help give me a refresher but I wanted the author to deliver it in a more subtle style. 

As I mentioned, I was pretty disappointed by the amount of action and plot in this book…There is so much emphasis on the lack of time they have left and yet Raven is just walking around rehashing the “important stuff” from the previous book…She isn’t springing Daniel out of the basement…nope, she’s busy snogging Link in her bedroom! Speaking of kissing, the romance in this book (between Ven and Link) just seemed to get hotter and hotter. But a lot of that romance just happens at the most inappropriate times. I could not get my head around the fact that they’re getting all touchy-feely when they’re running out of time! So some of that romance seemed pretty unnecessary and I think it took away from the plot…I assumed that the reason why there was less action and more planning going on is because this second book is supposed to lead up to the third book. 

The characters in Deviation didn’t really disappoint or excite me…They weren’t really any more fleshed out and it seemed like you could easily go through and label them with “good” or “bad” or “morally grey.”

I also noticed that Ven morphed into this kickass chic who began making all these brave, bold decisions. But that’s rather surprising considering she’s way more shy and cautious in the previous book. Maybe its because she didn’t know the rules, of the game Titus placed her in before? But the author never really seems to justifies this huge change in her personality and behavior so I got the feeling that she just rewrote her! 

Obadiah was one of the few characters I liked because he seemed a bit different  and a contrast to the rest of the characters populating this dystopian world. Despite being a minor character, he was fairly interesting and the way in which he handled discovering the truth about himself just made me like him more.

Titus Rogen, the “bad guy,” remained a mystery to me. His motivations were unclear and anything more Ven discovered about his history didn’t change the way she viewed him. I didn’t really get a feel for why he’s doing this, apart from the obvious reasons and I felt like that made him a very cliche villain.

Would I Recommend It? Perhaps..I loved the first book (see my review here) because I found the premise so interesting but the plot just dragged too much in this book. However, this book did finish on a strong note and I think that might be enough to compel me to try the third book. 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

