Lit Talks: What I Look For In Blogs

Lit Talks -What I look for in Blogs

Lit Talks is a series of  discussion posts where I discuss anything that has caught my eye. I aim to take a new angle on old and new topics alike. 

We all have those blogs which we keep returning to for one reason or the other. Today, I’m going to use this post to talk about what I look for in blogs.

I personally find visuals a very important part of the reading experience. I love blogs with unique themes and a great layout which allows me to find what I’m looking for. If a blog is not well organized, I take that as a  sign that the blogger is not committed enough to organize their blog so that posts are easier to find. This is especially important in book blogs because there are so many different kinds of posts being published! If I can’t find what I’m looking for (like a certain review or feature post), I just exit and try my luck elsewhere. 

But the main thing I look for is great content! If you have a simple theme and no visuals but amazing content – then I will probably end up stalking your blog!  Unique, interesting, engaging content is always what makes a blog stand out from others in its niche. For book blogs, this usually means cool discussion posts. But for for any type of blog, unique content could come in the form of opinionated posts that look at certain topics from different angles. After all, controversy can be a good thing and generate more views/comments because people have so much to say about it. 

 I also really love free stuff! Giveaways are sometimes the reason why I visit the blog in the first place! But that doesn’t mean I won’t visit blogs if they have no giveaways. 🙂 Oh and I’ve noticed posts on DIYs and I think those are really cute. Even if I’m not actually going to make the object in question, I often click on the post just to read about it. 

Sometimes writing style can also impact my decision on whether or not to follow a certain blog. If a blogger’s writing style is really quirky, sarcastic or humorous, I’m more interested in reading what they have to say. And if their posts are also concise with no rambling, then that’s definitely a bonus! 

To sum it all up:

1. Theme/layout (organization)/visuals

2. Unique/Interesting Content

3. Free stuff (not as important but I do get curious when I see the term “giveaway”)

4. Writing style – quirky, sarcastic, humorous, etc. 

5. Concise posts (no rambling please!) 

So what keeps you returning to certain blogs? Is it the gorgeous theme, amazing content or even the awesome giveaways? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lit Talks: What I Look For In Blogs

  1. bookolympus says:

    I love blogs with great designs! Sometimes I’ll visit them just to admire their layout.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mamalisa4 says:

    def content!! If I find it interesting or informative!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

