Tag Archives: goodreads blurb

Book Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392

Goodreads Blurb: 

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Reader Problems Tag

Hey everyone!
I was tagged by Jolien @ The Fictional Reader to do the Reader Problems Tag. Thanks for tagging me Jolien. 🙂 If you haven’t already done so, I think you should check out her blog post. Without further ado, let’s begin…

Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Mini-Book Review: The Body in the Woods by April Henry

18490532

Goodreads Blurb: 

In this new series told from multiple perspectives, teen members of a search and rescue team discover a dead body in the woods.

Alexis, Nick, and Ruby have very different backgrounds: Alexis has spent her life covering for her mom’s mental illness, Nick’s bravado hides his fear of not being good enough, and Ruby just wants to pursue her eccentric interests in a world that doesn’t understand her. When the three teens join Portland County Sheriff’s Search and Rescue, they are teamed up to search for a autistic man lost in the woods. What they find instead is a dead body. In a friendship that will be forged in danger, fear, and courage, the three team up to find the girl’s killer—before he can strike one of their own.

This first book in April Henry’s Point Last Seen YA mystery series is full of riveting suspense, putting readers in the middle of harrowing rescues and crime scene investigations.

Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

eARC Review: Isla’s Inheritance by Cassandra Page

22549788

Title: Isla’s Inheritance

Author: Cassandra Page

Publication Date: Oct 9th 2014

Rating: 3.5 stars

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Blurb: 

Isla was content to let her father keep his secrets, but now she can’t stand the touch of iron and her dreams are developing a life of their own. She must discover the truth — before it’s too late.

Seventeen-year-old Isla Blackman only agrees to participate in a Halloween party séance because Dominic, an old crush, wants to. She is sure nothing will happen when they try to contact the spirit of her mother. But the séance receives a chilling reply.

SHE IS NOT DEAD.

Isla doesn’t want to upset her father by prying into the family history he never discusses. When the mysterious and unearthly Jack offers to help her discover the truth, Isla must master her new abilities to protect her loved ones from enemies she never knew existed.

Note: This eARC was provided by Xpresso Book Tours via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

eARC Review: Love, Edy by Shewanda Pugh

22075460

 Title: Love, Edy

Author: Shewanda Pugh

Publication Date: June 24th 2014

Rating: 4 stars

Amazon | Goodreads

Goodreads Blurb: When Edy Phelps falls hard for her best friend, she knows nothing can come from it. Forget actual chemistry, or the fact that she cherishes his mother more than her own; centuries of tradition say that Hassan will grow up, marry the girl his parents pick, and forget his best friend: the dancer with the bursting smile. Except he can’t. In a world erupting with possibilities for the boy with a body of steel and dreams of the NFL, everything seems promised while nothing at all is; when he’s denied the girl he wants most.
Two hearts. Two families devoted through generations of friendship. Could Edy and Hassan really risk all that? And yet … how could they not?

Note: This eARC was provided by Xpresso Book Tours via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Book Review: Torment by Lauren Kate (Fallen #2)

7740152

Goodreads Blurb

How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for?

In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean – and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future . . . and that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. What if his version of the past isn’t actually the way things happened . . . what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else?

The second novel in the addictive FALLEN series…where love never dies.

My Review!

Plot 

The author quickly sums up the first book in the beginning and meanwhile, there is a lot more action than I anticipated. Fallen is relatively slow compared to Torment because the plot really picks up in this book. There are snapshots of Luce’s past lives because she’s finally figuring out how to manipulate the shadows. Daniel, on the other hand, seems to be both fighting a war and protecting his girlfriend. There’s just enough information to understand events in the book (keeping in mind that everyone is keeping major secrets from Luce) but I couldn’t put the book down because I wanted to know more.

Characters 

As mentioned earlier, Luce manipulates the shadows to see into her past lives and we can see the effect this knowledge has on her decision-making. As a character, she is very vivid and relatable because we can understand the emotional struggles she is going through. Luce is trying to figure out who she is and what Daniel means to her. At the same time, I found her rather annoying because she seems to use “getting in trouble” as a means for “getting attention.” So I found her to be both brave and stupid!

Daniel was initially my favorite character but in this book he didn’t strike me as much of a “Prince Charming” anymore. He seems to be a more complex character but is still very over-protective (boyfriend). I was very frustrated in him because he didn’t give Luce the choice to make decisions for herself… which is one of the reasons she took risks and endangered herself – so that she could know what the hell is going on!

Francesca and Steven are two of my favorite characters in this book. They are teachers at Shoreline, Luce’s new school, and teach the “honors” students. I liked Steven because he is a very interesting and complex character. On one hand I wanted to see more of him but on the other, he scared the hell out of me. I had a very different reaction toward Francesca who seemed kind and reassuring although I think she sugarcoated the truth sometimes.

Would I recommend this book? 

Yes!

**** I reformatted my usual book reviews so that they’re more concise but I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments! 🙂

Rating: 

starstarstarstar

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,